Home » Uncategorized » Despedida #1

Despedida #1

On Tuesday last week I finished my work at Colombo. The rest of the week was spent in a mad rush trying to procure things for Peru and hang out with friends. I also squeezed in a trip to the dentist since I realized I could do it here with no appointment needed and only a $30 charge for a cleaning. On Saturday night I took a bus to Bogota. With my new inflatable neck pillow and a dose of motion sickness medicine I was finally able to get a good night’s sleep on the bus and got to my friend’s apartment on Sunday morning feeling fully refreshed. I am staying with my friend Diego and his siblings in a beautiful apartment in North Bogota. We spent Sunday like every Colombian does – just lounging around. My time in Bogota is going to be pretty low-key, not many activities planned. This morning I had time to finish a project I’ve wanted to do for a long time now. I have always been fascinated by the hypnotic, melodious cries of the street vendors around Colombia. I also knew that recording these sounds would preserve a very special sense of place that I will be grateful to have when nostalgia for Colombia strikes in a few months.

On Wednesday my dearest friend of them all, Courtney, arrives to Bogota and we’ll pass through Bucaramanga and then onto the coast. On June 14th I head to Iquitos, Peru and then on July 24th I arrive back in Colorado!

Leave a Reply

