Home » Uncategorized » Colombiaventura Part 1

Colombiaventura Part 1

My trip began on Dec. 11th at 10pm. I took a bus with my friend Josh (another US resident teaching English here) to Bogotá during the night. In Bogotá we checked out La Candalaria, vegetarian restaurants, graffiti tour, a historic neighborhood called Ucaquén and we got to do some yoga!

DSCF0850

Part of a big wall by a crew called APC (Animal Poder Crew). The wall is regularly updated with new art.

Part of a big wall by a crew called APC (Animal Poder Crew). The wall is regularly updated with new art.

Rodez

Rodez

Stinkfish

Stinkfish

With Josh in front of a piece by Toxicomano and other artists.

With Josh in front of a piece by Toxicomano and other artists.

"They stood me up." and "Ugly people are more stylish."

 On the left:”I got stood up.” A clever play on words since the phrase literally means “They left me planted” and they painted it on a planter. Get it?!? On the right: “Ugly people are more stylish.”

 

It was nice to do the graffiti tour at the beginning of my trip because I was able to identify graffiti by the same artists in other cities that I visited. I’m very much in love with Colombia’s street art. After my first visit to Bogotá in August I wasn’t so keen on the city – I saw it as little more than a cold, grey expanse of ugly brick buildings. On this trip, though, I got to discover many more of the cultural treasures that are inherently present in a city as large as Bogotá.

After a few days some of Josh´s friends arrived from the states and we all headed to Suesca to go climbing. Unfortunately the main route we hung out on was a bit hard for me after being out of practice for so long. But this place was pretty enough I didn’t mind! The barba del monte hanging from the rocks made me feel like I had entered an ancient land from a fairy tale.

DSCF0937

Even with this highly illegal move I didn't make it very far up the route.

Even with this highly illegal move I didn’t make it very far up the route.

1599604_10152209198838203_1507860918_o

We stayed the night in a hostel in Suesca and enjoyed some Boyocá arepas, they tasted like pancakes we decided. In the morning I set off for Zapaquirá to see the famous Salt Cathedral. It’s been built underground in an old salt mine and is an eerie place for sure.

Zapaquirá main plaza.

Zapaquirá main plaza.

One of many chambers in the Salt Cathedral.

One of many chambers in the Salt Cathedral.

The main cathedral.

The main cathedral.

One thought on “Colombiaventura Part 1

  1. Pingback: Colombiaventura Part 2 | Notes From Bucaramanga

Leave a Reply

