Home » Uncategorized » Cemetery, Farm Camping and Orchids

Cemetery, Farm Camping and Orchids

Many of you won’t be surprised to learn that one of my first excursions around Bucaramanga led me to the local cemetery – Cementerio Central de Bucaramanga. It turned out to be a quiet respite from the excessive horn-honking that plagues the streets of my fair city.

DSCF9196

DSCF9194 DSCF9195 DSCF9197 DSCF9198

I also discovered that our apartment building has a rooftop patio with some lovely views!

DSCF9191

Looking south from the roof.

DSCF9192

Looking north from the roof.

Last weekend I went on a camping trip in Piedecuesta, a town south of Bucaramanga. Like most of my activities in Bucaramanga, I entered into it blindly. I’m getting more and more used to the Colombian way of “going with the flow” instead of my natural tendency to plan everything ahead of time in detail. So without being sure whether or not we would have tents to sleep in (it turns out we did), I hopped aboard a bus on Saturday afternoon and met up with more members of AIESEC. Several buses later we were dropped off on a dusty road which led us to a beautiful old home with a large yard to camp in and a pristine swimming pool. In the morning we were awakened by the sounds of the cows and roosters that reside on nearby farms.

483548_10200424708334046_992256345_n 529213_10200424710454099_306749140_n piedecuesta

After camping I attended an orchid exposition with Andres and my friend from Germany, Lisar.

DSCF9217 DSCF9222

This week I started teaching conversation classes at Colombo. It’s been lots of fun so far! My students are so sweet and funny and excited to learn English. They range in age from 14 to 27. I will leave you with a photo of a granadilla, my favorite Colombian fruit.

DSCF9231

One thought on “Cemetery, Farm Camping and Orchids

Leave a Reply

